Book Review

Dead Water – C.A. Fletcher

Book Title: Dead Water

Series: 

Author:  C.A. Fletcher

Goodreads Linkhttps://www.goodreads.com/book/show/59413625-dead-water

Release Date:  7/19/22

Star Rating:

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Creepy, haunting and atmospheric.

A water-borne blight hits a remote community on a small island on the edge of the Northern Atlantic. The islanders are a strange mix, some island-born, some seeking a slower life away from the modern world. All have their own secrets, some much darker than others. Rumour says the illness may be a water-borne neural infection from the shellfish farm, a case of mass hysteria – or even a long-buried curse – but when ferry service fails, inconvenience grows into nightmarish ordeal as the outwardly harmonious fabric of the community is unnervingly torn apart.

A haunting, suspenseful tale of isolation and dread within a small island community -from the author of A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World, perfect for fans of The Loney and Station Eleven. – Goodreads

I admit this one confused me a little. First of all, I think the blurb doesn’t really describe the book properly. I was really expecting a pandemic/virus situation and definitely not … what this book ended up being (I don’t want to say the word because spoilers). It really kind of threw me for a loop.

Besides that I had a couple of other issues with the book, which if I’m honest, this first one is not necessarily an issue as you’ll see. Firstly, believe me when I say a more miserable lot of characters is rarely to be seen. These people have got some problems! Halfway through the book I was thinking for god’s sake, they have enough trouble already, they don’t need outside reasons to hate/fear for their lives. I mean every single person has some really major issue going on in their life. Then I realized isn’t that just life? Aren’t all our lives messy? Don’t we hurt ourselves and each other in so many ways every single day that an outside force is hardly needed to make us supremely unhappy. The book does serve to remind one of the need to stay connected to people we love and shore up our defenses against all comers.

The only other issue I had with the book was that it was a little slow to start, mainly because there are so many characters involved in the plot. I understand why it was written that way, but a little paring down might not have hurt.

That being said, once things got going it was hard to put down. I am at work today, functioning on 3 hours of sleep, in no small part because I kept reading this book long after I should have stopped in the early hours this morning. So if you are looking for horror/suspense then this will probably fit the ticket for you. It was deliciously creepy at times. I recommend.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s