Book Review

Shielded by KayLynn Flanders

Shielded

 

Book Title: Shielded

Series: Shielded #1

Author:  Kaylynn Flanders

Goodreads Link: Click here

Release Date:  7/21/20

Star Rating: 4-stars  –  Beautiful cover, great new series

Disclaimer: I received this book free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

I mean look at that cover!!

Now I don’t usually choose YA books, mostly because I find them to be a little formulaic at times. However, when I saw the cover of this book … it just called to me.  I had to have it, and I was not disappointed.

For fans of Sorcery of Thorns and Furyborn comes a thrilling new fantasy about a kingdom ravaged by war, and the princess who might be the key to saving not only those closest to her, but the kingdom itself, if she reveals the very secret that could destroy her.

The kingdom of Hálendi is in trouble. It’s losing the war at its borders, and rumors of a new, deadlier threat on the horizon have surfaced. Princess Jennesara knows her skills on the battlefield would make her an asset and wants to help, but her father has other plans.

As the second-born heir to the throne, Jenna lacks the firstborn’s–her brother’s–magical abilities, so the king promises her hand in marriage to the prince of neighboring Turia in exchange for resources Hálendi needs. Jenna must leave behind everything she has ever known if she is to give her people a chance at peace. – Goodreads

This one was hard to put down. The story was paced well and very interesting. A big plus is the main character herself, she was absolutely winning.  As a young girl forced to play the game of thrones with absolutely zero training, not only does she do a darn good job of it but she also retains her sweet nature and courageous spirit.  She could be a little bit of a Mary Sue in that she is surprisingly good at battling and intrigue once she gets into it but I get the feeling there is a genetic reason why she is predisposed to the life she finds herself in that will be explained more fully in future books so it’s not hard to stomach.

The romance she finds herself in is adorable.  It’s not treacly but still sweet and completely understandable … he is a real cutie!   The secondary characters in the book are also easy to love, especially the two sisters she meets in Turia.  Oh! There is also a family that helps her when she is injured that I find myself inordinately fond of. I don’t think I’ll ever see them in the book again but I just loved them and keep hoping they will show up again.  This demonstrates to me the strength of the authors ability to make you feel for and identify with the characters, even background characters.

All in all, I really liked this book and I’m looking forward to more from this author. If I’m not mistaken this is her debut book and it deserves any and all hype it receives. I hope it is very successful!

Song for this book: Hold Me by The Sweeplings

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s