Book Review

Wanderers – Chuck Wendig

Book Title: Wanderers

Series: 

Author: Chuck Wendig

Goodreads Link: Click here

Release Date:  07/09/19

Star Rating: I liked it.

Disclaimer: I received this book free from Netgalley in return for an unbiased review.

Give me good post-apocalyptic fiction every time. Give me 800 pages of a well written book and I’m a hog in heaven. Give me good characters and a barn burning story line. Unfortunately, this book did not fully live up to my expectations.

A decadent rock star. A deeply religious radio host. A disgraced scientist. And a teenage girl who may be the world’s last hope. In the tradition of The Stand and Station Eleven comes a gripping saga that weaves an epic tapestry of humanity into an astonishing tale of survival.

Shana wakes up one morning to discover her little sister in the grip of a strange malady. She appears to be sleepwalking. She cannot talk and cannot be woken up. And she is heading with inexorable determination to a destination that only she knows. But Shana and are sister are not alone. Soon they are joined by a flock of sleepwalkers from across America, on the same mysterious journey. And like Shana, there are other “shepherds” who follow the flock to protect their friends and family on the long dark road ahead.

– Goodreads description

It’s a good premise and some of the characters are definitely interesting. A gay rock star following the flock in hopes of finding some inner peace was a real favorite. Other characters also pleased me to a certain degree. But the plot itself, the menacing over-the top villains, the mysterious disease, the inscrutable AI controlling everyone’s destiny … none of it touched me. That is the real failing of the book. It didn’t make me feel any real sense of horror, pity, fondness, or curiosity. I just meandered down the road with the flock, hoping for an interesting ending. In the meantime, it felt like a really looooong dusty road, and that’s unforgivable for a book of this genre.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s