Book Review

The Rules of Magic – Alice Hoffman

Book Title: The Rules of Magic

Series: Practical Magic #0

Author: Alice Hoffman

Goodreads Link: Click here

 

rules of magic

Star Rating: gold stargold stargold stargold starempty star– Really liked it!

Disclaimer: I received this book free from Netgalley in return for an un-biased review.

Love is not easy. It’s not always sunshine and rainbows. It comes down to very different people relating to one another. Like a conjoined twin, I think fear is a close companion to love. When we are young, we fear that you will never find the right person to love. When we find them, we fear that the other person will not love you back. When we have love, we always fear that this person who has become so vital to your world could be lost. The Rules of Magic is about love. Love between siblings, parents, children, lovers and friends. It is about letting your love flow freely, not bottling it up with fear, guilt, doubt or anger.

I loved this book. I was offered the ARC by the publisher through Netgalley. I vaguely remembered hearing about the first book in the series, Practical Magic, when the movie was released. I think Sandra Bullock was in it? I never got to see it, but ok! Knowing that The Rules of Magic was a prequel to that book I decided to read Practical Magic first. It is not necessary to do that, though I am glad I did. Both books can easily stand on their own. I think if I were to do it again, I would have read this book first and then Practical Magic.

Both books are a slow burn. It took a good 25% before the story really gets into swing. Don’t misunderstand me, it is a good, well written 25%. The methodical layering of personal relationships between the characters and the world they live in takes skill and above all else time.

As the descendants of witches, the Owens family are magical people. I found them fascinating. They know everything about curses and charms. Which herbs will cure fever and which will shake loose an unwanted lover. Black cats are not bad. Witches can’t drown and always carry lavender in your pocket. Even with all their knowledge, some parts of life cannot be tricked, manipulated or avoided.

Life was short, it was over in an instant, but some things lasted. Hate and love, kindness and cruelty, all lingered and, in their case, all had been passed on.

The Owens family suffers from a curse. Despite the curse, they each must come to learn to:

Love more, her aunt had said. Not less.

It is a short but sweet thought from a lovely book. It is what we should all strive to do, with or without the help of magic. This book is one I’m going to think about for some time. I will likely revisit it as well. If you have a chance, I highly recommend getting to know this author and her beautiful books. You won’t be sorry

Song for this book: Millstone by Eisley

Save

10 thoughts on “The Rules of Magic – Alice Hoffman

  1. I had no idea this novel had anything to do with Practical Magic, but I found the premise really intriguing! Great review — you’ve certainly encouraged me to pick this book (and Practical Magic) up! 🙂

  2. I haven’t heard of this book before so thank you for putting it on my radar. I’ll definitely have to check it out further, as it seems for very intriguing. I just stumbled upon your blog, and I’m greatly enjoying its content.

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    1. Hi, Just followed you! I’m fairly new to blogging myself. I don’t think I’ve passed my year anniversary yet, so I don’t have many tips. Except don’t worry about stats, have fun and are you on Twitter? There is a lot of activity on Twitter for book bloggers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

