Memes

Top 5 Wednesday – Children’s Books

Welcome back to Top 5 Wednesday.  This is a meme started in November of 2013 and is still going strong! If you’re interested in being a part of it please see the group on Goodreads.

This week’s topic is Favorite Children’s Books.

Five??!!  Just FIVE favorite kids books?? I can’t do it … there might be some overflow guys, so I’ll try to keep my notes brief.
line clipart

wocket

There’s a Wocket in my Pocket by Dr. Seuss

One of my first favorite books. The language is among Dr. Seuss’s best and the pictures are wonderful.

line clipart

secret garden

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

What a wonderful book. So gothic and moody. I loved it so much and it really inspired a love of gardening in me. I have no knack at gardening at all. I kill everything I plant, but this book made me love the “idea” of gardening. ha!

line clipart

little house

Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder

This is a natural favorite. Especially since when I was reading it the tv show was very popular. Oh boy, I’ve dated myself right there haven’t I.

line clipart

Lad a dog

Lad: A Dog by Albert Payson Terhune

This book was part of a set my parents got me through some mail order book scam that was popular in the 70’s & 80’s. Oh but I loved these books so much. A collie of renown, like Lassie.

line clipart

black stallion

The Black Stallion by Walter Farley

The love of my young life. I was one of those girls, obsessed with horses. I read every horse book I could get my hands on, but this was my favorite.

line clipart

Many more books on my honorable mentions (not a complete list by any means) …

 

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Children’s Books

  1. The Secret Garden and the Little House books were two of my faves. And they actually hold up if you reread them as an adult.( I hate it when you revisit something you loved as a kid, year later, and wonder what you saw in it….)

  2. I was an avid reader as a child so read almost everything. I loved Nancy Drew and Trixie Beldon, but they would not be considered classics. I read The Little House Books as well. I pretty much love all the Dr. Seuss books and still have most of them but I think my favourite was Green Eggs and Ham.

    1. Green Eggs and Ham is wonderful. I think I read a couple of the Nancy Drew books and I really liked them, but I never ran across them in the thrift stores I bought book in when I was a kid. Bummer.

Leave a Reply

