Book Review

Assassin’s Fate – Robin Hobb

Book Title: Assassin’s Fate

Series: The Realm of the Elderlings

Author: Robin Hobb

Goodreads Link: Click here

fate

Star Rating: gold stargold stargold stargold stargold star– All the stars in the sky!!

Disclaimer: I received this book free from Netgalley in return for an un-biased review.

I have to disclaim my disclaimer. It is virtually impossible for me to be un-biased about this book.  Unabashed admiration for the author, and genuine fondness for the world she has created doesn’t make what I have to say about it irrelevant though.

I know my blog entries have been missing in action for a while. This book was announced a year ago. I couldn’t wait until the release! In March, I got the ARC from Netgalley. I have to admit I fan-girled my way into oblivion. I immediately said to myself, to do this justice I have to read the whole series over from the beginning. It’s dense, there’s a lot of prophesy, magic creatures, and roughly a zillion characters who directly influence the plot, so I need a refresher! Let’s do this … all 15 books. Yeah, you heard me. FIFTEEN! I started my journey in March, and finally arrived at book 16, Assassin’s Fate  on June 15th.

I love this book.

I know we throw the phrase “I love this book” around sometimes, but I really mean it. Ms. Hobb has created something special with this series. It is a highly developed world with truly fascinating multi-faceted characters. I love that by the end, in the culmination of all the separate storylines, the series resolves finally into being about love and acceptance. She also has a way of making the reader feel that you truly know these people. For instance, I was surprised when someone mentioned an observation on a Robin Hobb fan board about a very important character, named Nighteyes. He is one who you become intensely attached to, and whose presence is felt throughout the 16 books but actually only appeared in books 2, 3 & 7. Astonishing! In another authors hand, a character appearing so infrequently could tend to melt away into the ether. Instead, Nighteyes is an integral part of the story and a favorite among so many fans.

(**extremely vague spoilers in this next paragraph**)

But it is the two main characters, Fitz and the Fool who truly capture your heart. I approached this book with trepidation. I felt in my heart I knew what was coming by the end of the book. It wasn’t that it was predicable, more like this is a road we are traveling on and we all know the final destination. It was hard for me to get there. I was thinking about it on my drive home one night and found myself feeling choked up just thinking about an eventuality that hadn’t even happened yet! When I finally reached that point of the book, well let’s just say that it’s 4 days later and I still feel very emotional about it.

I can’t recommend this book enough. I have a bad habit of forgetting plots of books after a while. I remember having read a book, and whether I enjoyed it, but they get fuzzy after a while. That’s part and parcel of reading so many books I guess. Robin Hobb’s Elderling series is not something I’m ever going to forget. These characters are a part of my life. You all know what I mean right? Because I try to tell normal non-book blogging people how I feel about this and they look at me like I’m crazy.  How do you help them understand how books can affect you? That a well written book can make you feel as though you’ve made friends, their happiness brings you joy and you mourn their passing. I don’t know how to communicate that to people who don’t already know this truth. What I do know is that this is a good book, it is a great series, and she is a remarkable writer.

Bonus link:  Visit the author’s website for more information

Song for this book: Welcome to the Black Parade – My Chemical Romance

 

 

7 thoughts on “Assassin’s Fate – Robin Hobb

  1. Wait– there are 16 books?! I thought this was the final book in a trilogy?! Yikes. It looks like I’ve got a lot of reading to do. O_o I have wanted to read Robin Hobb’s books for a long time now, but I’ve never really had a kick in the butt to do it before. It looks like you’ve sold me! Which book do you recommend I start with?

      1. I hear she has a short story coming in an anthology based on this world. Other than that I haven’t heard anything else. She closed the story out quite definitively, but I can see her taking other stories and moving out from there if she wanted. I just want her to keep writing. 🙂

      2. Well, that makes me feel a bit less intimidated. I don’t mind spin-offs in various forms, but I really want a series completed before picking up the books. Do you feel like I could just read the first trilogy and be satisfied? Or should I plan to read all 16? 😉

      3. She is good at making each set complete. You can easily read the first set and leave it off without feeling like you’re at a cliffs edge. The other sets are the same way. The ship books are also like that. Reading all of the books gives you a more comprehensive storyline and they all are tightly interconnected but still independent.

Leave a Reply

