Memes

Top 5 Wednesday – Book Party!

Welcome back to Top 5 Wednesday.  This is a meme started in November of 2013 and is still going strong! If you’re interested in being a part of it please see the group on Goodreads.

This week’s topic is Books as Event Themes.

If you could throw a bookish party, which book would you choose as a theme? I have to admit, been there done that a couple of times now in real life for this one. So my first two picks will be about the parties I actually threw way back in my younger days.

line clipart

Anne of green gables

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

We had a blast with this one. It was pretty small. Only about 10 people. It was a full on Edwardian dress up tea party.  We had scones, tea, tiny sandwiches, pretty little chocolate brownie hearts dusted with powdered sugar.  We spent weeks getting our outfits together, and also bought small parasols. Which we stripped and re-covered with satin, ribbons and fancy stuff. It was a lot of fun. Then we went to a local park and took pictures. Which sad to say I cannot share here because they are at home and are not scanned. This was long before cell phone cameras. lol

line clipart

alice in wonderlan.jpg

Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

This was long before the Johnny Depp version. Our party was more based on the Disney version. It was about a 20 person party this time. Everyone had costumes, and we had a tea party. A disruptive tea party where guests had to act out their parts. One little boy was Dormouse who had to run around everytime someone said the word “CAT”. It was a kids party. Afterward, we took pictures and played croquet with kids golf clubs we crafted into flamingos. It was fun.

line clipart

fellowship2

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

Oh yeah, I forgot! I did one of these parties too.! LOL Yes, costumes were involved again. (ooh wait, I just thought of another party I threw, we’ll get to that next). This party was even larger than the last two. I won’t got into details. But I will put up the invitation I sent out on … LiveJournal!!! lol Talk about a loooong time ago.

Entmoot invite

Hilarious!

line clipart

sith

Star Wars by Various Authors

You knew this was coming right? Yes, costumes were involved. Plus themed foods and movie watching. I don’t remember if there were prizes this time, but knowing me, of course, there was.  I didn’t wear a costume this time. But I made some for the kids.  Here they are. We took this pic at a Star Wars Concert but they applied to the party too.

star wars costumes

line clipart

Technically, I’m supposed to post 5 party ideas. But I’m tired just thinking about all the work that went into these things. I can’t even think about … Ok … Game of Thrones … I’d do a Game of Thrones party. You happy?! (ha)

dance party

Save

7 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Book Party!

  1. This is AWESOME! I love hearing about all the parties you’ve done before. I’ve hosted so many book themed parties… I think my favorites were all the Harry Potter book release parties; we did them for books 5, 6, and 7 being released. ❤

      1. That really sounds awesome. My daughter would have loved it. She said this morning if she were to chart a ratio of herself she is 1/4 kitten 1/4 super smart college student 1/4 toddler and 1/4 Hufflepuff

Leave a Reply

