Memes

Top 5 Wednesday – Authors I’d Like to See More From

Welcome back to Top 5 Wednesday.  This is a meme started in November of 2013 and is still going strong! If you’re interested in being a part of it please see the group on Goodreads.

This week’s topic is Authors I’d Like to See More From.

I’ve tried to choose authors that are not my usual favorites. I have an easy 5 that are constant I-want-to-read-everything-they-write authors. But first I’ll focus on some new to me authors that I think need some attention …

line clipart

katherine arden

Katherine Arden

Books: The Bear and the Nightingale, The Girl in the Tower (2018)

Website: http://katherinearden.com/

I really enjoyed her first book The Bear and the Nightingale. It was a wonderfully atmospheric, fairy tale type book set in Russia. It is cold and beautiful. I’m looking forward the second book in the series due in January 2018.

line clipart

maria turtschaninoff.jpg

Maria Turtschaninoff

Books: Maresi, Naondel (coming soon)

Website: https://www.mariaturtschaninoff.com/english

I fell in love with Maresi and am eagerly awaiting the next volume. I love her depiction of women and girls, living in a community, supporting one another. I wanted it never to end and I wanted to live there with them, but the next book travels beyond the island and I have to go with Maresi to see what happens.

line clipart

naomi Novik

Naomi Novik

Books: Uprooted, Temeraire Series (#1-9)

Website: http://www.naominovik.com/

This is a new-to-me author that I’m so thrilled to have found. The first book I read was Uprooted. I never wrote a review for it as I happened on it early in my blogging days, but it is a wonderful book. It is a fairy tale for grown ups. Full of magic. It feels old, like a story you’ve grew up with but somehow forgot along the way. I just recently started her Temeraire series and I just love the characters! I’m happy that there are so many of her books  ahead for me to read!

line clipart

N.K. Jemison

N.K. Jemisin

Books: Inheritance Trilogy, Dreamblood Series, The Broken Earth Series

Website: http://nkjemisin.com/

Wow, this lady. This is a balls-to-the-wall writer right here. You get the feeling she isn’t holding anything back. It’s not ostentatious, bloody fantasy, and that’s a good thing. It is bold. I’ve read the first book in the Inheritance Trilogy and am looking forward to continuing. Times like this I feel like blogging makes it hard to be a reader. I want to just jump in and read everything she ever wrote and who cares if I post anything for a while. You guys know what I mean right?

line clipart

meg elison pic

Meg Elison

Books: Book of the Unnamed Midwife, Book of Etta, Book of Flora (coming soon)

Website: http://megelison.com/

I know I’ve mentioned this author before, but I can’t help myself. She’s my new favorite. If it’s even possible to have a favorite lol. Her books are frightening, visceral, illuminating, but still hopeful. I’m going to real all of them, whenever they come, I will send my money. Her and Mickey Mouse/Disneyland, they get it all. (talk about a juxtaposition lol)

line clipart

I really didn’t intend to choose all women authors, but that’s how it shook out in the wash! Sorry, not sorry. Ha!

Save

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Authors I’d Like to See More From

  1. NK JEMISIN! YES. Now, I will admit, she is the only author on this list I have read, but I adore her writing. It’s just perfection. There’s something so unique about her storytelling. The twist always gets me! I cannot wait for the final Broken Earth book to come out. 😀

    Novik and Arden are both on my short list to read– apparently I should, hm? 😉

Leave a Reply

