Memes

Top 10 Tuesday – Book Turn-offs

I’ve seen this meme around the blog-o-sphere lately and this week I just couldn’t resist.  Please visit The Broke and the Bookish blog for details on how to participate.

This week topic is Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want To Read A Book.

This week I’m going to have fun with the subject so expect a lot of images and .gif’s.  I wasn’t able to come up with 10 but here goes, in no particular order…

line clipart

Love Triangle

team katniss

Ugh… so overdone, and so unnecessary. I understand that young women like romance in a YA book, but not when it’s done as a formulaic, check the box ingredient. This is YA with a “strong female character” so she must have at least two men after her. I like the interview with Willow Shields from The Hunger Games, when asked if she was Team Gale or Team Peeta she replied “I’m team Katniss.”

line clipart

Insta-Love

romeo

Run away girl. This will not go well for you. I hated insta-love when I first read Romeo and Juliet, and I still hate it. I’m not alone right?

line clipart

Movie/Book crossover covers

 fellowship fellowship2

the road the road

None of those movie tie-in covers hold the least interest for me. Even a plain black cover for The Road is more appropriate to the book than a pic from the movie. I never buy a movie tie-in cover.

line clipart

Gross/Weird covers

touch

sweet jesus

Who approved this cover? I could have gone my whole life not seeing this and I’d have been perfectly fine!

facepalm

line clipart

Annoying Language

I read a LOT of fantasy books. Nothing turns me off faster than a book that starts with a bunch of gobbledygook nonsense vocabulary.

“Raithe, the God Killer, may have started the rebellion by killing a Fhrey, but long-standing enmities dividing the Rhunes make it all but impossible to unite against the common foe.

With time running out, Persephone leads the gifted young seer Suri, the Fhrey sorceress Arion, and a small band of misfits in a desperate search for aid—a quest that will take them into the darkest depths of Elan.”

If I need a dictionary and appendix to read the back cover blurb I’m not picking up the book. I also have a special hate in my heart for fantasy books that need to speak in Old English.

girls

line clipart

Over Sexualized Covers

Romance books have their place, but an hyper-sexualized cover is just not my cup of tea.

wish

I’m looking for fantasy… but not that kind of fantasy …

alien

Technically that’s more sci-fi… but um no that’s still a little…

wolves

Ok, seriously, what is the dog doing in there … You know what? Never mind. I’m good I’ll go find something else.

line clipart

Vampires

I admit, they gross me out. I can’t take it.

nala

line clipart

Rape as Plot Device

I’ve lost all patience with this nonsense right here. It’s real, it happens way too often and needs to be treated with seriousness and not just as a vehicle to move your plot forward. I will put this book down and give it a one star review on every social media/book site I can find so help me.

giphy

line clipart

I made it! I finished! Can’t wait to see what you all have on your lists! I’m out.

cat costume

Save

Save

Save

6 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday – Book Turn-offs

  1. Really like your list!
    Totally agree about the over-sexualized book covers (also I think the third one is supposed to be a wolf to show he is a werewolf lol still creepy).
    I completely forgot about movie book covers, so you have reinvigorated my dislike for them. I remember when I was looking for Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris right after the TV show started and there was only 1 copy without the TV show mentioned or changed cover!!! Considering I loaned the books away (and never got it back) I will probably have to go through this again *sigh*

  2. Never really though about this before, but you are absolutely right. I enjoy a romance, but the cover is what makes me pick up the book. I would not pick up any of those books you showed. Love this list.

Leave a Reply

