Memes

Top 5 Wednesday – Fantasy TBR

Welcome back to Top 5 Wednesday.  This is a meme started in November of 2013 and is still going strong! If you’re interested in being a part of it please see the group on Goodreads.

This week’s topic is Fantasy Books on Your TBR. I have so many books I want to read, but picking these 5 was pretty easy. They are the one’s I can’t wait to get to…

line clipart

fate

Assassin’s Fate by Robin Hobb

You guys have got to be sick of me talking about this book by now right? I’ve been waiting with bated breath for a year. It comes out in May, but guess what. I got the ARC!!!!! I can’t wait to start, but I also promised myself to read the earlier books in the series first to get ready. I’m almost there. I’m on book 3 … of 15. It will go fast, you’ll see!

jade

Throne of Jade by Naomi Novik

This is book 2 in the Temeraire series. I loved the first book, so I’m excited to get going on the second. Like Robin Hobb’s books this series is full of dragons, and not just wordless angry creatures, but charming, intelligent, interesting dragons. It’s Dragons + Horatio Hornblower. It works!

darker

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

All I hear about is what a great series/author this is. I can’t wait to try it out. I read the sample and it is immediately intriguing. The author gets such high praise from people as well. Maybe after I finish my Hobb-athon.

oathbringer

Oathbringer by Brandon Sanderson

Maybe this comes out in November 2017? Kinda sorta? I don’t care when so long as it’s coming. It is the third book in the Stormlight Archive series by Mr. Sanderson. It is absolutely epic. I think this is going to be one of those series that is eventually considered an all time classic.

fifth.jpg

The Fifth Doll by Charlie N. Holmberg

The release date says August 2017 so I’m hopeful this will be here soon. It looks interesting and I always like books by this author. I’m definitely looking forward to it, but not sure what to expect. A woman trapped in a matryoshka? Sounds fascinating!

line clipart

That’s what I’m looking forward to this year. What is on your TBR?

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Fantasy TBR

  1. You HAVE to read the Shades of Magic trilogy!! So the first book, A Darker Shade of Magic, is slower paced and is a lot of world building and set up, just something to keep in mind. The second book, A Gathering of Shadows, is super quick paced and action-packed. I am currently reading this third book, and it is a similar feel to the second book. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

