Resist

Resist – New blog series!

I’ve had an idea growing in my mind the last few days. Now that I’m a few months into blogging, I ask myself what is the point? Why did I start blogging?

  1. Free books – yeah that was the first reason lol
  2. Finding out more about new releases!
  3. Getting to talk with others about books I love.

I wanted to be in the know about the new, the exciting, the big releases in the book world. However, over time I’ve noticed that not all free books are equal and hyped books are not necessarily good books. Books should affect you personally. Books should make you feel something: happy, sad, angry. Otherwise, why waste time with them? That’s not to say that it’s not a good idea to just read something simple and fun once in a while. That can be very helpful too.

I really admire the fellow bloggers I see who write meaningful reviews about important subjects and authors. Through their posts we get to see bloggers world view. When we write about things that affect us, our reviews are informed by our experiences and opinions. This is truly wonderful. I’ve already learned so much from my fellow bloggers! Thank you all.

So here I am with my new (first!) blog series. I was inspired by something said about Elizabeth Warren as she addressed Congress on the subject of equal voting rights in America. She was interrupted and silenced by the Senate Majority Leader who said…

“She was warned.

She was given an explanation.

Nevertheless, she persisted!”

I’m not sure what Mr. McConnell thought would happen when he said that about Ms. Warren. It actually served to inspire many of the people watching. To me, it means not giving up on doing the right thing. It means living a life of determination, of being a civic-minded person, compassionate and curious. I’m naming my blog series Resist for just those reasons. To inspire resistance in the every day. Resist stale old ideas and communicate progressive thought. Here is my plan:

  • Choose a list of books that speak to important issues in the world today and review them.
  • Highlight posts by other bloggers who are doing the same.
  • Encourage Guest-Posts by other bloggers in order to spread awareness of what they are writing to a larger audience.
  • Spark interesting discussion and ideas. (hopefully!)

I may approach some of you with requests to re-blog a post you’ve written. Or if you are interested in doing a Guest-Post on my blog I will be very happy to help spread awareness about the things you are writing about. I hope that we can have some interesting discussions and can circulate good ideas among the blogging community. I will be keeping a centralized list so that we can easily see each others posts and make them available to others as well.

All that being said … on to my list…

handmaid-us

The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood

Themes: Women’s Rights, Authoritarianism

malala

I Am Malala – Malala Yousafzai

Themes: Women’s Rights, Education

every

Every Man Dies Alone – Hans Fallada

Themes: Holocaust, Human Rights, Resistance

orphan

The Orphan Master’s Son – Adam Johnson

Themes: North Korea, Human Rights, Dictatorship

reluctant

The Reluctant Apostate – Lloyd Evans

Themes: Religious freedom, Cult Indoctrination

pulse

On the Pulse of Morning – Maya Angelou

Themes: American patriotism, Optimism, Equal Rights

unknown

The Book of Unknown Americans – Cristina Henriquez

Themes: Immigration, Human Rights, Diversity

does-my-head

Does My Head Look Big In This? – Randa Abdel-Fattah

Themes: Muslim American, Religious Freedom, Diversity

shanghaidreams-of-joy

Shanghai Girls & Dreams of Joy – Lisa See

Themes: Immigrant experience, Totalitarianism, Diversity

sowertalents

Parable of the Sower & Parable of the Talents – Octavia E. Butler

Themes: Diversity, Women’s Rights,

Phew! That is quite a list right? Some of these books are new to me, and some are old friends. There’s not a lot I can do to affect change around me. But here is a place where I have a voice and so I feel the need to use that tiny platform to do what I can to help. This is a daunting undertaking for me. But I think I will enjoy it, and hopefully learn a lot in the process. Let me know what you think? Does this sound like something that interests you? Sound boring already? I’d like to hear from you.

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Resist – New blog series!

  1. I love this idea! With the current political climate in the United States this is even more important than ever. It is fairly apparent that President Trump doesn’t really read… This is a great opportunity to showcase the power of reading and the written word!

    I’d love to participate in whatever way you see fit. Feel free to email me: jackieb-at-deathbytsundoku.com to work something out. I couldn’t be more excited!

  2. I’ll participate as well, I’ve always wanted a reason to read The Orphan Master’s Son! And The Book of Unknown Americans sounds excellent. I live in Texas so this is really pertinent to me!

  3. This is a fantastic idea and I can’t wait to read more of your reviews and the reviews you will share!! I had a moment like this myself – in these harsh days, I feel like we have to do something about it, to use our blogs to talk about books that challenge the general bullshitness. That’s why I started reviewing translated novels – to overtake the western self-centered way of seeing the world.

Leave a Reply

