Memes

Top 5 Wednesday – Manga time!

Welcome back to Top 5 Wednesday.  This is a meme started in November of 2013 and is still going strong! If you’re interested in being a part of it please see the group on Goodreads.

This week’s topic is Favorite Non-Written Novels. In other words, manga or comics, maybe some audio books. Something that isn’t just written. I’m not one for audio books, so manga/comics it is!

I used to read more manga than I do now, so my choices are VERY dated. But I think they hold up well.


 

comics

Understanding Comics by Scott McCloud

This book is a must-read for anyone who loves comics. He writes about the mechanics behind comics and why they are so effective at telling story and conveying emotion. I really learned a lot from his book.


best

The Best We Could Do by Thi Bui

To be honest, I just got this ARC yesterday. But I am already halfway through. It is wonderful. An #ownvoices book about a Vietnamese immigrant to America, her relationship with her family and how she makes peace with the violence they escaped to make their home here. It’s important to gain some insight into the plight of refugees, particularly now with what is going on in the world. I’m eager to finish and write a review.


twin

Twin Spica by Kou Yaginuma

I really loved this sweet little manga series. It is about a group of young people who are attending space academy. It’s not easy, but the main characters optimism and sweetness buoys her teammates. It’s a really nice but short series.


kitchen-princess

Kitchen Princess by Natsumi Ando

I was kind of surprised I liked this series. It’s a light little piece of fluff about a girl with prodigious baking talent. When she was little she met a boy who was kind to her, and now she is trying to find him. It’s just what you think it is. Adorable.


death

Death Note by Tsugumi Ohba, Takeshi Obata (Illustrator)

You know what’s not adorable? Death Note. But it’s sure fun! A boy finds a book that allows him to kill anyone whose name he writes inside. This is not a horror story though. It’s part psychological drama and part thriller. Is he ever going to get caught? This series was insanely popular when I first read it. I can imagine it is still popular today.


Honorable Mentions:

Fruits Basket – A whole lot of heart in one small basket.

Monster – Best manga I’ve ever read. Best anime I’ve ever watched.

Yakitate!! Japan – Just plain silliness around a baker with magic hands.

Pluto – Another great manga by the author of Monster.

Emma: A Victorian Romance – The story is sweet, but the real star is the wonderful artwork.

7 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Manga time!

  1. This is a great T5W topic! I don’t read a lot of manga, but I do read a lot of graphic novels. I’ve found some great recommendations from my friends this week. 😀 My personal favorite graphic novels are the Saga series (it’s incomplete but brilliant), Nimona (So cute and sassy!), and Maus (terrifying, moving, and brilliant). I really need to pick up Understanding Comics. It sounds super interesting!

    Lovely list. I hope that it inspires you to get back into the genres. 🙂

    1. I went to a lecture by Art Spiegelman a number of years ago. It was really fascinating. He not only talked about Maus but also about the history of comics/graphic novels and how they influence culture. It really is fascinating! i keep hearing about this Saga series. I’ll have to check it out.

  2. OOOH! The best we could do cover looks SUPER STUNNING! Thanks for the rec’s! Personally I haven’t been into manga as much as I used too, hopefully I’ll be able to change that this year! I’m going to the library later today, so maybe I’ll check this out!
    #PUNTIMEisFUNTIME
    -Jared

Leave a Reply

