Memes

Top 5 Wednesday – Favorite things

Welcome back to Top 5 Wednesday.  This is a meme started in November of 2013 and is still going strong! If you’re interested in being a part of it please see the group on Goodreads.

This week’s topic is Favorite Things That Are NOT Books. What? Umm, books are it. Everything relates to books in some way right? Ok, I’ll try.


christmas

Christmas!!!

I know you’re thinking, kind of late to the party right? Yeah, but you don’t understand. This last December was my first Christmas ever. E-v-e-r. I loved it! I loved the music, and the presents, and making a big dinner, and the tree, and … you know what I mean? That is my first tree. Beautiful right?


star-wars

Star Wars

It’s a good time to be a fan right? When Star Wars IV came out in 1978 I was 5 years old (yeah I know I’m old lol) and I made my mom take me to the theater 7 times to see it. I love it. The new movies and cast are awesome. My two kids are into it too which makes it even better. We recently went to Disneyland and my little girl got to meet Chewbacca. I’m there and doing the whole mom thing, taking picture but not really paying attention. When I went to walk out, Chewie came over, put a big furry hand on my arm and signaled he wanted me to hug him. I was instantly transported to feeling like I was 5 years old again and my old buddy wanted to play. I know, it’s silly and weird. That’s how it is when something touches your heart in the way that this franchise has done for so many people in my generation.


stardew-valley

Stardew Valley

I love this little game. Kairi (8 years old) and I share a town. I do all the financial stuff, like mining for ore, and managing crops.  She handles the social aspect of the game and gets to name all the farm animals. For a simple game it is incredibly absorbing. The town and it’s characters are really great. It’s available on PlayStation and XBox as well as on Steam, so if you haven’t tried it yet do so! Plus it’s very inexpensive as games go. Be prepared though, it is a total time sink. We already decided that this weekend, we are not leaving the house or getting out of our pj’s. We have a gaming weekend planned.


Disneyland

We are fortunate that we live in Southern California. I know VERY lucky. We have annual passes to the park and we get to go much more often than most people. I love Disneyland. It is so peaceful and fun. Whether your idea of fun is running around getting on rides, or just sitting on a bench eating popcorn, Disneyland has the best of both worlds. My favorite ride is Big Thunder Mountain, which you can see in the picture on the left. And my favorite people to go with are my family. From left to right: Angie (my mom), Jay (son), Savanna (neice), Kairi (daughter). The pic is from a few years ago, but I love it because you can see how happy they all look.


woman

Activism

I wrote a post recently about how I have been gradually becoming more aware of the world around me, and about my efforts to take a hand in helping others. I am enjoying having a say. I try to encourage kindness and inclusion around me. I also work to spread awareness about issues that are important to me: women’s rights, the dangers of cult indoctrination, and child advocacy. It’s very scary and exciting. It’s also very Star Wars isn’t it. Why am I not surprised. Resist the dark side of the force wherever possible. 🙂


4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Favorite things

  1. As if you live so close to Disneyland I am so jealous! I went to Florida Disneyland 4 years ago and I have been to Paris Disneyland a number of times. It is one of my favourite places in the world! Big thunder mountain is also my favourite ride closely followed by Tower of Terror! I wish I could get to a Disneyland more often. I loved this list 😊

Leave a Reply

