Memes

Top 5 Wednesday – Underrated Books

Welcome back to Top 5 Wednesday.  This is a meme started in November of 2013 and is still going strong! If you’re interested in being a part of it please see the group on Goodreads.

This week’s topic is Underrated Books. If I think they’re underrated then it also stands to reason that I think highly of them. So I may have mentioned them on my blog before. But it’s because I love them. I hope you will read and love them too.


kitchen

The Kitchen God’s Wife by Amy Tan

You’ve probably heard of Amy Tan’s famous The Joy Luck Club. For good reason, it is a wonderful book. The movie is no slouch either for that matter. But I’m actually more fond of this book. It’s about a woman in 1940’s China, during the Japanese invasion. It is a wonderful book with a really terrific heroine.

sunday

The Sunday Philosophy Club by Alexander McCall Smith

Mr. McCall Smith is probably most famous for his No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series. Which is really good, don’t get me wrong. I really like this book though. It’s like sitting in a big fluffy chair, with a glass of warm whatever you like to drink, a fluffy cat on your lap, chitchatting with a really good friend. Isabel is a philosopher who also considers herself a kind of armchair detective. Of course, it gets her in trouble. It’s a very enjoyable read.

shanghai

Shanghai Girls by Lisa See

This book, and the sequel Dreams of Joy are a wonderful look at life in China during the Japanese invasion, the immigrant experience in America, and later the Cultural Revolution. I learn a lot from Lisa See’s books, but I never feel like I’m doing anything other than reading a really enjoyable book, with a great story and terrific characters.

blue castle

The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery

This is YA before we had YA. Ms. Montgomery was most famous for Anne of Green Gables. But I really love this book. It’s about a young woman who has always been oppressed by her family. When she finds out she has a terminal illness she decides to taker charge of her life. It’s a great little book.

paper

The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg

If you’re going to learn magic, then learn FIRE magic. Or learn how to bespell metal or something cool like that. Who the heck chooses paper? Ceony is assigned to learn paper magic when she becomes an apprentice and it bums her out. She comes to understand how truly incredible these skills are. It’s an excellent series, and I love this author. I wish that more people knew about her books. I’m going to advocate for her books whenever I can.

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Underrated Books

  1. I have both Shanghai Girls and Dreams of Joy by Lisa See sitting on my shelves right now and have yet to get around to reading them! Shame on me!

    It’s funny that you put The Paper Magician on this list as I was scrolling through book deals on Amazon and TPM came up. I couldn’t decide if I should take advantage or not since there are many mixed reviews… maybe I should go see if that deal is still going on…

Leave a Reply

