Memes

Rapid Fire Book Tag

Yes! I was just thinking, what can I post about and then here comes this tag from the lovely Lois at Lois Reads Books. Please visit her blog. She is a great reviewer and she has recently added her boyfriend David as a new guest writer. You don’t see many guys in book blogging so it’s nice to hear their perspective. Plus the two of them are just super cute!

Now on to the tag…


Β 

1) E-book or Physical book?

I can’t believe I’m saying this but … E-book. I can carry my Kindle with me everywhere. I can read in dark places. It’s not too heavy in my bag and I just plain love it.

2) Paperback or Hardback?

If I’m reading one then paperback. I am going to go a step further and say I like trade paperbacks better than regular mass-market paperbacks. I hate when a spine gets creases all over it. But if I’m collecting a book then it has to be a hardback.

3) Online or In-Store Book Shopping?

If I had a bookstore nearby then I’d be in store all the time. Unfortunately, I don’t have one nearby so I do all my book shopping online, or directly on my Kindle.

4) Trilogies or Series?

They are kind of the same thing right? I mean a series can be a trilogy (or more), and a trilogy is by definition a series. πŸ€”

5) Heroes or Villains?

Hmmm, both. I guess it depends. Although I hate a book where there is no one I can relate to or admire.

6) A Book You Want Everyone To Read?

I would say Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb. It is the most rewarding book because it is a very long series. 15 books so far! You can spend forever reading it and will love all the characters so much! Just go read it already!

assassin

7) Recommend an Underrated Author?

I would recommend Charlie N. Holmberg. Not because she is unappreciated. Rather because I don’t hear other people talk about her books enough. She writes really great fantasy books. Plus she seems to be a really sweet person. Look up her recent book Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet. It’s a nice stand-alone book. Read my review here if you’re interested.

8) The Last Book You Finished?

We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

feminists

 

9) Weirdest Thing You’ve Used as a Bookmark?

Probably a piece of yarn.Β  I’m crafty.

10) Used Books: Yes or No?

No. I like beautiful perfect books. With no spine creases or bent corners. I treat my books like royalty!

11) Top Three Favourite Genres?

Fantasy, Dystopian, Women’s Fiction

12) Borrow or Buy?

Buy. If I really like it I want to keep it forever!

13) Character or Plot?

Plot. I think.

14) Long or Short Books?

Long books, always.

15) Name The First Three Books You Think Of

David Copperfield by Charles Dickens

(why am I drawing a blank!)

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

1984 by George Orwell

16) Books That Make You Laugh or Cry?

Fool’s Quest by Robin Hobb. This is the most recent book from the series I mentioned earlier. There was a moment in it that was like a gift from the author to all her readers. It was just what you’d always hoped for to happen to the main character. Actually, that series has a ton of laugh/cry moments in it.

17) Our World or Fictional Worlds?

Fictional. Or our world in a fictional future.

18) Audio Books: Yes or No?

No. As must as I like listening to podcasts, I just can’t concentrate on audio books.

19) Do You Ever Judge a Book by it’s Cover?

Absolutely. But a bad cover doesn’t necessarily mean I will not read it if I think it might end up good anyway.

20) Book to Movie or Book to TV Adaptations?

Depends on who is making the movie or TV show.

21) A Movie or TV-Show You Preferred to its Book?

Anne of Green Gables. Not that it is “better” than the book, it just was such a delight to watch.

8 thoughts on “Rapid Fire Book Tag

    1. I used to own a ton of physical book. But when the kids came I had to downsize. That’s when I buckled down and went with the Kindle (didn’t think I’d be happy but it was the only alternative). Now I only really have books that I have collected, like special editions, or signed copies or such.

  1. Thank you so much for the lovely intro Crystal, it has really made us both smile πŸ™‚ I loved your tag too. David’s favourite book is 1984 so he was happy to see that answer πŸ™‚ I’m glad you enjoyed this tag!

Leave a Reply

