Memes

Top 5 Wednesday – New Year’s Party!

Welcome back to Top 5 Wednesday.  This is a meme started in November of 2013 and is still going strong! If you’re interested in being a part of it please see the group on Goodreads.

This week’s topic is Characters you would invite to your New Year’s party. Let’s preface this with the fact that I’m not a partier.  Staying up until midnight, drinking, dancing and such? Not so much. But a dinner party? Yes, let’s do this. So this is a laid back group chosen primarily for  conversation and amiability.


jamie-bower

The Fool – Farseer Chronicles by Robin Hobb

This photo is of an actor name Jamie Bowers, who I think could play the Fool based on his physical appearance. I’d love to have the Fool at my party. He would be so much fun. He is exceedingly clever and interesting.


hermione

Hermione Granger – Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

Smart girls at the party represent! She’d bring some great conversation, and I could really use her spells to help clean up afterward right!


temeraire

Temeraire – Temeraire Series by Naomi Novik

This is not just your garden variety dragon. He is brilliant and extremely well read. He is also very clean and has a good appreciation for music. He would definitely bring the class to our gathering. Which would now have to be an outdoor gathering. Oh well, it would be worth it.


john-watson

John Watson – Sherlock Holmes Series by Arthur Conan Doyle

First of all, he’s adorable right! Plus, you know he’d have some really terrific stories to tell.


shurei-hong

Shurei Hong – Story of Sainukoku by Kairi Yura

If I can have a dragon at my party then I can have an anime character too right? Shurei is really terrific. She has a brilliant mind and a wonderful spirit. I think she and Hermione would really hit it off and I’m hoping she will bring some of her famous pork buns along too.


I can’t handle it all by myself so I have a few honorable mentions. These are people I would hire to help out but would also be welcome guests once things settle down at the party.

purple

Entertainment – Shug Avery

So talented!

magic

Catering – Maeve

Delicious baked treats!

alloy

Security – Wax & Wayne

Ok, I probably don’t really need much security, but these guys would be fun and I have to give them something to do!

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – New Year’s Party!

  1. The Fool was so close to making my list too! And I chose Fred and George, but Hermione would be an equally great party guest.
    I’m hoping to read The Tawny Man trilogy in 2017 – have you read them yet?

Leave a Reply

