Memes

Top 5 Wednesday – Disappointment

Welcome back to Top 5 Wednesday.  This is a meme started in November of 2013 and is still going strong! If you’re interested in being a part of it please see the group on Goodreads.

This week’s topic is Series That Got Worse with Each Book/Season. So this week we are dealing with disappointment.


detective

The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency

I really enjoyed this series to begin with, but by book #10 in the series it was starting to feel a little formulaic.  Nothing worse than when a series becomes predictable, especially when it’s a mystery series. The same thing happened with the books by Mary Higgins Clark.


beekeeper

Mary Russell Series

I really loved these books and in fact I still enjoy the first 10 books in the series. Hmm, is 10 my magic number? Then I went to a signing by the author. I shouldn’t have gone. It was a little hoity-toity up in there. I started to notice that the next two books were turning  into a history lesson. I come here for a feminist Sherlock Holmes fix, not for this! That’s not what I signed up for. Now I’m wary of going to any more signings. It’s not fair really. My idea of what it would be like, was not what it turned out to be and that affected my perception of the books. Oh well.


cinder

The Lunar Chronicles

It’s not my first experience with hype. I know a lot of people really love these books, and I enjoyed the first one in the series. However, I think the story suffered in the second, and I still haven’t tried picking up the third. Probably not going to happen.


mitford

The Mitford Years

Another series I really loved to begin with. It’s such a sweet series, with really lovely characters. But later volumes became too predictable. When you know the punchline to the joke before the guy finishes it, it’s time to stop reading. I also think I just grew out of the mood for this type of book and moved on to another genre. Maybe I’ll go back to it someday.


divergent

Divergent

From what I’ve been seeing, I’m not the only T5W blogger who feels this way.  The book started off pretty good, and then just fizzled out. So did the movie, it just doesn’t translate well. Not everything can be as successful as The Hunger Games. This just didn’t have the punch. Oh well, we’ll have to see what happens with The Darkest Minds.


3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Disappointment

  1. I totally agree with you about the Mary Higgins Clark books! I read them a lot in High school and eventually had to stop because I knew the villain and who the female protagonist would end up with before I was halfway through the book.
    Definitely dislike when books end up being written like a formula.

  2. Funny!! We did opposite for Divergent and The Hunger Games. I completely despise The Hunger Games to the point where I wasn’t even gonna pick up Divergent, but glad I did because it is still my favourite books to dates.

Leave a Reply

