Memes

Book Traveling Thursday – Emotional Journey

Book Traveling Thursdays is a group I found on Goodreads, you can visit them here! Every week, they post a new subject and you choose a book that fits the theme.  Then share covers for that book according to the following rules…

  1. Original cover
  2. Cover from your country
  3. Your favorite cover
  4. Your least favorite cover

It looks like a ton of fun!  So let’s start now.

This week’s theme: Choose a book that made you feel emotional.

I think they wanted you to choose a book that made you sad, or made you cry. I’m not a big crier, to tell you the truth. I know there have been a few books I cried over, but I honestly can’t remember which. So I chose a book that made me angry. Not just a little angry, but put-the-book-down-a-minute furious. Any tears shed were of frustration and upset.

I chose the inimitable The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. It is a feminist work of speculative fiction. Provocative, frightening and enraging, I truly believe it should be required reading.

Offred is a Handmaid in the Republic of Gilead. She may leave the home of the Commander and his wife once a day to walk to food markets whose signs are now pictures instead of words because women are no longer allowed to read. She must lie on her back once a month and pray that the Commander makes her pregnant, because in an age of declining births, Offred and the other Handmaids are valued only if their ovaries are viable. Offred can remember the years before, when she lived and made love with her husband, Luke; when she played with and protected her daughter; when she had a job, money of her own, and access to knowledge. But all of that is gone now…


Now on to the covers…

handmaid-us

 US Edition

Good representation. I like the hats!

 

handmaid-rus

 

Russian Edition

I like this edition, because unlike so many other covers I’ve seen before this one relates to the story. Offred keeps a match in hopes that she can use it to free herself. It’s a small thing but it shows that whoever put this cover together was familiar with the book and made this choice for a reason.

 

handmaid-uk2

 

 UK Edition.

Well I guess they tried. The woman in the inset has the right outfit on, but the flower and bare stomach in the larger image looks like it was intended for a women’s sanitary napkin commercial. Really? That’s unfortunate!

 

handmaid-uk

UK Edition

What is going on with this artwork? Is this the patriarchy or just Stalin with a baby? What…the?

handmaid-us2

US Edition

I HATE this cover so much! I know where they are going with this. She’s being silence, but it still skeeves me out.  I am not good with injuries and that looks way too painful. I can’t take it.

 


 

One thing I’ve noticed since I started doing these Book Traveling Thursday posts, is that I enjoy finding bad covers so much more than good ones. 😀

Save

Save

2 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursday – Emotional Journey

Leave a Reply

