Memes

The New York Times’ By the Book Tag

Yay another fun tag! Thanks for picking me Lois! Please visit her blog at Lois Loves Books everyone.

Now on to the fun.  This is a long one so it might take me a while. lol

What book is on your nightstand now?

twisting   I blew it with this one.  The author was so kind as to send me an ARC for this book a while back. I put it in my kindle and then instead of adding it to my currently-reading folder as usual, I let it drop to the bottom of a list of samples. 🙄 Real smart, Crystal.  So now I’m trying to get it read and blogged before the next volume in the series reaches me.  Jeez. I’m an idiot.

 

 

What was the last truly great book you’ve read?

watershipWatership Down is one of my all-time favorites. I’ve read it at least 3 or 4 times since I was a kid. It never gets old, and every time you read it there is always something new to find. It is a classic for a reason.

 

 

 

 

 

If you could meet any writer – dead or alive – who would it be? And what would you want to know?

bronteI think I would like to meet Charlotte Bronte.  I think I’d get along with her. I’d also really love to be able to visit her house in England sometime.  Maybe after a millionaire drops an enormous fortune on my front door. Yeah, that’s the ticket. But I think I’d probably be tongue-tied once I met her.  That’s pretty much my modus operandi when I meet authors.

What books might we be surprised to find on your shelf?

cultWell. Yeah, it is what it is.  It’s an excellent book. Someday I will write a review for it.  After I’ve read it a couple more times and processed the information. Very valuable information.

 

 

 

 

 

How do you organize your personal library?

I don’t really have books on my shelf anymore. Just a few treasured ones. A collection of Dickens that I won in a contest and a couple of signed books. My kindle is organized by genre.  My bookshelf used to be organized this way…

  1. Genre
  2. Series
  3. Size
  4. Color
  5. Hardcover/paperback

Yeah. I’m a little OCD. 😉

What book have you always meant to read and haven’t gotten around to yet?

oceanI’ve been wanting to read this one for about a year, but my TBR keeps getting in the way.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you are supposed to like but didn’t?

da-vinci

What a disappointment this book was.  I mean the hype around it was incredible! It was supposed to be so awesome. It was … ok. This was how I learned not to believe the hype over book releases.

 

What kind of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?

Usually I like:

  • fantasy
  • sci-fi
  • dystopian
  • apocalyptic
  • YA fantasy/sci-fi
  • Women’s Literature

I usually don’t read:

  • Poetry
  • Erotica
  • Romance
  • Horror
  • Self-help
  • Religion

If you could require the president to read one book, what would it be?

 

That’s a hard one.  Which President are we talking about? Obama? Clinton? Tru- ok I can’t finish that.

Obama – something fun and uplifting. He looks like he could use a break.

Clinton – She seems really well read, how about a biography of Eleanor Roosevelt. Seems like she’d like that, and it would be inspirational.

Trump – I can’t resist.  My Life On the Road by Gloria Steinem. 😄

What do you plan to read next?

I did a bad thing.  I signed up for sooooo many ARCS. I don’t know what came over me.  Now I have to finish all of them.  I’m overwhelmed and can’t even think of what comes next after The Twisted.

That was fun! Thanks again, Lois!

 

2 thoughts on “The New York Times’ By the Book Tag

  1. I listened to the audiobook for The Ocean at the End of the Lane, as read by Neil Gaiman. Before listening to that, I didn’t really *get* Gaiman and his writing. Now? Now I adore him. I hope that you have a positive experience reading it whenever you manage to get to it.

Leave a Reply

