Memes

Top 5 Wednesday – Books that took forever

Welcome back to Top 5 Wednesday.  This is a meme started in November of 2013 and is still going strong! If you’re interested in being a part of it please see the group on Goodreads.

This week’s topic is Books That Took Forever To Finish. Not to be a Debbie downer, but most of these are books that I didn’t like much.  The one’s I love fly by in an instant it seems, but there are a couple of exceptions in the list.


shaman

Shaman’s Crossing by Robin Hobb

I love this book/series. I love all the books I’ve read by Robin Hobb. She is wonderful! One thing I’ve noticed about her books though, they have a bit of a slow start to them.  That is not a bad thing, but it did lead to me putting this book down for an extended period of time and then returning too late and having to start over.  Once I was able to devote enough attention to the book I was very happy with it!


tempest

The Tempest – William Shakespeare

Ugh what a slog! I think I’m out of practice with Shakespeare.  However, I was dying to read Hag-Seed by Margaret Atwood and since that novel is based on this play I knew I had to read the source material. It took so long!


gatsby

The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald

I feel like I SHOULD like this book. You know, “Great American Novel” and all that. Classic. Masterpiece. Bo-ring. I think I’ve read it 3 times. First, in high school. Second, because I thought maybe I just hated it because it was assigned reading.  Third, because I have grown up and might appreciate it more?? Nope, still hate it. I have wasted a third of my natural lifespan on this book.  Or it seems that way.


pirate-king

Pirate King by Laurie R. King

I admit to being confused about my reaction to this book.  I love the series. In fact, I went to an author signing particularly to buy this book, and it took me about an entire year to finish.  I was determined to do it. I think it just came at an odd time in my life, and I’m just not in the place to enjoy it.


alchemist

The Alchemist – Paulo Coelho

Another book that is lauded on high, and I could hardly get through. What does that say about me?  It just kind of went nowhere. I love a good moral in a story, and am not averse to some philosophical wanderings, but this… No thanks.  I’ll take Fullmetal Alchemist instead!


What’s that? Fullmetal Alchemist?  Did someone say “hottest” man in anime?!!?!

roy

You’re welcome.

 

7 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Books that took forever

  1. Haha. I love the FMA gif at the end. Priceless.

    I’ve struggled to read Shakespeare lately, too. It’s definitely a practice thing for me. I forced myself through Hamlet, Henry IV Parts I and II, and King Lear. By the time I got to Lear it was a lot easier but… yeah. I’d rather see it performed live.

Leave a Reply

