Book Review · Memes

Banned Books Week – Winnie-the-Pooh

Banned Books – Banned books are books or other printed works such as essays or plays which are prohibited by law or to which free access is not permitted by other means. The practice of banning books is a form of censorship, from political, legal, religious, moral, or (less often) commercial motives. – Wikipedia

In celebration of banned books week, I will choose one banned book each day to highlight.  Some of those won’t be a surprise.  Some of them may shock you. Good. Don’t be afraid to read a banned book today…

pooh

Winnie-the-Pooh – A.A. Milne

Reasons for ban: Talking animals are an “insult to god”, Piglet is offensive to Muslims, the book revolves around Nazism, Pooh is “inappropriately dressed” and “sexually dubious”

Are you freaking kidding me?! This is not for real right?  Au contraire mon frère, this is for real.  This has happened as recently as 2014 in Poland, and 2006 in Kansas, USA.  I don’t even have words to express how ridiculous this is to me. I would have trouble thinking of a less offensive story than the Pooh series. Winnie-the-Pooh is a stuffed bear belonging to a little boy named Christopher Robin.  He has some mild, sweet, funny adventures with his fellow stuffed friends in the nursery. There is quite simply nothing here of substance to get offended about.  But ok, if we are going to get nasty with Edward T. Bear (Winnie is his criminal a.k.a.) then why don’t they call him out for gluttony and an obvious addiction to honey (street name “hunny”)! Ridiculous.

pooh-cloud

Obviously, I find it difficult to take the claims seriously, and yet, the challenge was not only quite serious but actually resulted in the book & merchandise being removed from shelves. Winnie-the-Pooh is a longtime favorite of mine. He was been my imaginary companion as a toddler and young child. In the interest of full disclosure, I am a 40-ish woman who still has a pooh bear of her own.  So I guess I’m a little biased.  These stories are a gentle, fluffy, loving way for parents to introduce a love of reading to their children. I can’t understand the narrow-minded way of thinking that would allow for this wonderful series to be denied the public.

Please read Winnie-the-Pooh.  Please watch his cartoons. Hug a bear (the stuffed ones, don’t hug real ones please!). Love yourself some Pooh bear.  He loves you back.

“Banned” Bloggers: Here are links to a couple of other bloggers I’ve come across who are also celebrating Banned Books Week.  Please visit their pages.  They have so much good information!

Song for this book: Winnie the Pooh Theme Song

 

Save

Save

19 thoughts on “Banned Books Week – Winnie-the-Pooh

      1. Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha REALLY? WOW. I think this is my new favorite. Especially the part where Pooh is ‘inappropriately dressed’ – my new highlight. Although Pooh being ‘sexually dubious’ is a close second.

  1. Thanks for the shout out!! 🙂

    Wow. This is just embarrassing for the people who challenged this book. Seriously? I could see the Tao of Pooh being banned for religious reasons… but, wow.

    So, this is an ignorance issue, but why is Piglet offensive to Muslims? I’m Jewish, and I know that Muslims and Jews don’t eat pork due to the animal being unclear, but this seems strange and counterintuitive. No one is asking them to eat this…

    1. Yeah I was surprised. It was actually UK school libraries who decided to ban it in order to preemptively keep from offending Muslim students. The Muslim community itself called for an end to the ban saying it was well-intentioned but misguided.

  2. Oh wow–today I’m finding gems online. I thought I had the words right–a neighbor taped the Winnie the Pooh stories for me when they came on disney, I guess they were a bunch of episodes thrown into a movie or something, but I wore the tape out watching those episodes and that song’s been stuck in my head more than 25 years (with head bopping to do it right). Thanks for posting the video–it didn’t occur to me there’d be a singalong version by now.

  3. Years ago I heard a couple radio hosts sharing their incredulity that a university actually received money for a study regarding Pooh & his friends, as well as their findings.
    Winnie is an obese compulsive eater. Tigger is ADD. Rabbit has OCD. Eeyore is depressed. Piglet has anxiety disorder. Although I’m not sure what labels were attached to Kanga n Roo, they were the current popular acronyms at the time.
    I recall when Tellitubbies were attacked simply for homophobic reasons. As a mother I am fairly certain my daughter will not be gay because it was the purple tubby with the triangle antenna who carried a purse that had been her favorite.
    I am also 100% POSITIVE that NONE of my Teddit’s, Ellies, and other stuffies, including my Silly ol’ Bear, had any gender identifying anatomy. Neither did my daughter’s stuffies.
    Of both points I am quite certain. Regarding winnie not having an obvious gender, why and how is THIS detrimental to my daughter? Will it be any more horrifying for her then Barbie and Ken being obvious female and male characters just like Kanga and Pooh, however human ones with no junk for their private areas at all?
    Time for a new study or perhaps it’s time to replace some of our fav literature that’s been missing.

Leave a Reply

