Memes

Book Courtship Tag

Ooh another fun tag.  I got nominated by Lois Reads Books. Please visit her blog guys.  She’s pretty terrific! 😀

While getting ready for this tag I realized something.  I’m completely obsessed with The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. I think I could put his book in nearly every category and be perfectly happy.  *sigh* Don’t worry I didn’t. But not because I didn’t want to!


Phase 1 – Initial Attraction

 A book that you bought because of the cover.

victorian

Victorian Romance Emma by Kaoru Mori

I used to read a lot more manga than I do now, and this was a favorite.  The mangaka (artist/author) is wonderfully talented.  Think of this as Downton Abbey in comic form. It’s lovely.  Just look at this..

emma

Tell me I’m wrong, I dare you. 😀


Phase 2 – First Impressions

A book that you got because of the summary.

alienist

The Alienist by Caleb Carr

This one also qualifies as a book I got because I loved the cover.  The description sounds gruesome and it lives up to the hype, but I just can’t resist a good period suspense novel.  It’s my old love of Sherlock Holmes coming to the fore I suppose.

The year is 1896, the place, New York City. On a cold March night New York Times reporter John Schuyler Moore is summoned to the East River by his friend and former Harvard classmate Dr. Laszlo Kreizler, a psychologist, or “alienist.” On the unfinished Williamsburg Bridge, they view the horribly mutilated body of an adolescent boy, a prostitute from one of Manhattan’s infamous brothels.

The newly appointed police commissioner, Theodore Roosevelt, in a highly unorthodox move, enlists the two men in the murder investigation, counting on the reserved Kreizler’s intellect and Moore’s knowledge of New York’s vast criminal underworld. They are joined by Sara Howard, a brave and determined woman who works as a secretary in the police department. Laboring in secret (for alienists, and the emerging discipline of psychology, are viewed by the public with skepticism at best), the unlikely team embarks on what is a revolutionary effort in criminology– amassing a psychological profile of the man they’re looking for based on the details of his crimes. Their dangerous quest takes them into the tortured past and twisted mind of a murderer who has killed before–and will kill again before the hunt is over.


Phase 3 – Sweet Talk

A book with great writing.

name

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

I resisted adding this to my list for as long as I could.  This book is wonderful.  It is lovely and strange. Dark and deep and full of music. I love this book so much I can’t even..


Phase 4 – First Date

A first book of a series which made you want to pick up the rest of the series.

black

The Black Stallion by Walter Farley

Oh talk about first love! I was obsessed with horses, horse books, horse movies, and everything else horses as a young girl. My favorite book series was The Black Stallion.  I think there were eventually 20 or so books in the series. I know I had to have read at least 3/4 of those.


Phase 5 – Late Night Phone Calls

A book that kept you up all night.

dragon

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

I could not put this book down. I literally stayed up all night reading it, and went to work exhausted the next morning. Was it worth it?  I suppose so. Although, I ended up not liking the series after all, I do admit it was compelling on a first read through.


Phase 6 – Always on My Mind

A book you could not stop thinking about.

villette

Villette by Charlotte Bronte

She’s not as popular as her sister Jane Eyre but she is remarkable all the same. I love Jane but I connect with Lucy. Where Jane is motivated, Lucy is passive. Lucy is prone to melancholy, unable to see her own good qualities. She is profoundly real. I haven’t read the book in ages, but it’s still there in the back of my mind.


Phase 7 – Getting Physical

A book you love because of the way it feels.

east of eden

East of Eden by John Steinbeck

I’m going to take this to mean how the book physically feels as opposed to how it affects me emotionally.  I love this edition of East of Eden because it is big and heavy.  The pages are cut unevenly, so it gives a very tactile feel when you flip through the pages.  The spine is perfect so that no matter how far you bend the pages back you don’t have to worry about cracking it. It has a very good feel. You book nerds know just what I mean!


Phase 8 – Meeting the Parents

A book which you would recommend to your family and friends.

charlotte

Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White

Such a hard one! Some people don’t like Fantasy, some don’t like manga and some don’t like the classics.  How on earth do I find something that everyone will like?  Then I thought, ok, let’s admit we’re asking a lot here. Some time travel will be necessary.  So I will go back and hijack everyone while they are young! I will find all my friends and family… 8 years old should do the trick … give them Charlotte’s Web and they will be hooked on reading! The rest is up to them. Phew! I’m exhausted.  Time travel is tough.


Phase 9 – Thinking About the Future

A book or series you know you will re-read many times in the future.

game

A Song of Ice and Fire (Series) by George R.R. Martin

How do I know I will read this one over and over? I’ve already read it twice, and there are two more novels to come in the series. I know I will read the series over again each time the new book is released.  So seven large books, at least 4 times over.  Does that sound like too much? Nah!


Phase 10 – Share the Love

Who do you tag?

I tag everyone.  If you do decide to do the tag please let me know! I’d love to read your ideas.  Comment below… now that I’ve made my confessions of love, what do you think?

Save

3 thoughts on “Book Courtship Tag

Leave a Reply

