Memes

Top 5 Wednesday – Books I Will Never Read

Welcome back to Top 5 Wednesday.  This is a meme started in November of 2013 and is still going strong! If you’re interested in being a part of it please see the group on Goodreads.

This week’s topic is Books I Will Never Read. I take that to mean books which were very popular but I am not interested in reading.  This is going to be negative for sure…


 

fifty

Fifty Shades of Grey by E L James

There really is nothing about this book that appeals to me. It’s a mess. Did you also hear about the library copy that was found to have traces of herpes and cocaine? You see! I’m right.  Don’t touch this book, it will literally make you sick. 😉


 

dan brown

The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown

I fell for it.  You know what I’m talking about, the mega-hype that surrounded The Da Vinci Code when it was released. What a buzz kill that book was. It taught me a valuable lesson, every book that becomes a mega hit is not necessarily worthy of the title.  Not interested in any more books in that series.


 

twilight

Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

I know a lot of people love these books.  Nope.  Not interested.  Sounds like another case of over hype to me.  I did, however, try to watch the movie when I was flipping through channels one day.  I couldn’t take more than 5 minutes. It was pretty bad.  No thanks.


 

kiss

The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

I actually bought this one recently.  I kept hearing such great things in the blogosphere about it, I had to try it out.  It’s a DNF. I’m not against a book with a main character that you might not like much, but I just couldn’t stand this girl.  She’s supposed to be the smartest, most capable girl in the kingdom. She runs away from home and is immediately tracked down by an assassin, a prince in disguise and a spy. Yeah.  She’s not that bright is she? Of course, two of them fall in love with her.  Why?! She’s an entitled little… Ok … stepping away now … moving on …


 

watchman+

Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee

I love Harper Lee.  I love To Kill A Mockingbird.  She is a wonderful writer.  But even she knew that this book was not ready for publication.  It was a first draft of what would later become a work of art. The circumstances under which this book was published stink to high heaven.  I have too much respect for her to put any money in the pockets of the people who took advantage of her advanced age just to make a profit. No thanks.


 

Well, maybe that was cathartic! I hope I didn’t poop on your favorite book in making my list.  Please remember that art is subjective.  Which means it is different for each reader. Let me know what books you would never read!

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Books I Will Never Read

Leave a Reply

