Memes

Top 5 Wednesday – Most Unlikeable Characters

Welcome back to Top 5 Wednesday.  This is a meme started in November of 2013 and is still going strong! If you’re interested in being a part of it please see the group on Goodreads.

This week’s topic is Most Unlikeable Characters.  Let’s get started!


 

allegiant

Four Allegiant by Veronica Roth

He was interesting in the first book, but he gradually turned into this weak snivelling person.  I understand he was traumatized but I felt like his character was sacrificed on the altar of Tris to a certain degree.  He just degenerated too far.


 

Emma

Emma Emma by Jane Austen

Part of my dislike of this character stems from the fact that this book was assigned reading in school and that’s a sure fire way to kill a person’s enthusiasm for a book.  She as a person never appealed to me much.  She’s far too selfish.  However, I will say that the BBC adaptation that came out recently with Romola Garai really helped me change my mind about the character. I enjoyed that movie a lot. Redemption!


 

heart

CharmaineThe Heart Goes Last by Margaret Atwood

I appreciate this book, and I’m not exactly sure if I’m supposed to sympathize with Charmaine or not.  She’s far too self absorbed, stupid and a little heartless.  I found her very un-likeable.  I think that was intentional though.


 

wuthering

CatherineWuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

Oh good lord, don’t get me started on this one.  This and Romeo and Juliet are the most over-rated romances in the history of English Lit (IMO).  She is a spoiled, petulant brat.  Why on earth everyone is in love with her I do not understand.  At the same time I do feel for her at times.  I’m torn.


 

gatsby

DaisyThe Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

In the interest of full disclosure, I hate this book. With a passion.  I hate the book.  I hate the movie.  I hate everything about it.  I particularly dislike this character. Why is everyone so besotted with such a vapid, weak-willed, opportunistic woman? I understand what she represents to Gatsby. She is just … blech. Deadly.

 

Save

Save

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Most Unlikeable Characters

    1. 😀 I hear you! I feel like I *should* love Gatsby. Great American Novel and all that. I just can’t do it. But then you don’t have to like great books for them to be great. They just need to make you think things and have feelings. This book certainly does that!

  1. I definitely have to agree with your assessments of Catherine and Daisy! Although I’m a HUGE fan of Charlotte Brontë, I never understood why everyone loved “Wuthering Heights” so much and I never could fully get into Emily’s style.
    Also, with regards to Emma — have you seen the Youtube series Emma Approved? It is a lovely modern adaptation of the Austen classic and I found it made the character of Emma very endearing and much more lovable (Joanna Sotomura plays her so well). I highly recommend it — I was hooked from the start!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

