Memes

Anne of Green Gables Read-Along: Chapters 21-30

Pages Unbound has provided discussion questions for chapters 21 to 30 this week.  I’m a little late with my answers, (again!)  but better late than never right?

If you’re interested in being a part of the discussion please hop over to Pages Unbound. You can sign up anytime!


 

Anne gets into a number of scrapes in these few chapters: flavoring the cake wrong, falling off the ridgepole, nearly drowning, dying her hair green.  Which was the most fun to read about? And which do you think would be the worst to experience?

I like the part where she is on the boat and nearly drowns in the river.  Only because it is one of the things she does that I can completely relate to.  I loved playing with my friends as a kid and acting out characters from books and movies.  It was my favorite thing to do.  No Barbie for me.  I was frequently Han Solo from Star Wars. I’ve been Hazel from Watership Down (I even ate grass .. tastier than you’d expect). I also led the sled dog team as Buck from Call of the Wild.  So much fun!

We also get more of Matthew in this chapter! What do you think of his insistence on puffed sleeves for Anne? Were they worth the torture he endured?

Matthew is just the best isn’t he!  He was so perceptive in recognizing the difference between Anne and the other girls.  I really wish we had more information about what has made Matthew and Marilla into the people they are.  Thank goodness Anne brought a little light into their lives.

Chapter 28 brings back Gilbert Blythe in full force.  Was Anne wrong to continue to carry her grudge?  What would you do in the situation?  Do you think, if you had initially refused forgiveness like Anne at the landing, that you would be able to go back and tell Gilbert you were wrong?

I’ve never been a person who holds a grudge.  I’ve known some people who do and I could never really understand the point. I would go back and tell Gilbert I was wrong, now that I’m older.  However, it’s so hard when you’re young to have that kind of courage.  While I understand how she fell into her own trap, it’s too bad she fell into it to begin with.  She’s a little bit of a drama queen.

Anne and her friends form an official story club together. Have you ever participated in something like this? How did it go?

I wish I could have, but I never really had any friends who enjoyed reading or writing about books enough to talk about them.

Finally, Anne gets her experienced in spare room bed at Miss Barry’s in town.  What do you think of Miss Barry? Would you be friends with her?

I like Miss Barry.  She’s lived a long, lonely life and now she wishes she had a little friend around like Anne to break her out of her mold.  Interesting, that she is described as  a selfish person.  Is this because of Society’s tendency to see childless, business-like women as selfish and uncaring or because she actually was.  Better for a woman to decide she doesn’t want to have children in order to focus on other things, than to think she has to have children and live unhappily (and spread that unhappiness to her family). I think we are seeing a little bit of the attitudes of the times Ms. Montgomery lived in bleeding through here.  Miss Barry is not without a sense of humor, and is a kindred spirit.  I think I’d have liked hanging out with her.

3 thoughts on “Anne of Green Gables Read-Along: Chapters 21-30

  1. Hm. You raise an interesting point about the way society views childless woman. I think, however, that Montgomery generally depicts society as seeing these types of women as sad. There are some career women in her books, who are judged because they were “unwomanly” and choose work over a husband. And some old maids who are seen as sad because, for some reason or other, they couldn’t “get” a man–whether that’s because they were too “picky” or too “plain” or too unforgiving. But Montgomery always seems to be depicting this as tongue-in-cheek. Half the time the gossips have no idea what really happened. And a lot of it seems motivated by jealousy or an unChristian delight in seeing the downfall of others.

  2. Good point. A lot of the “stern” women in her books tend to be ones without children, kind of like Marilla herself, who really lightened up around Anne. There does seem to be an idea that children are “good” for making you a cheerful person (unless you have too many, in which case you might be a little harried). I also like (well, dislike, actually) one of the mothers in Emily of New Moon because she’s really not stereotypically maternal.

  3. My mother had two children (much to her dismay, ha ha), but was very much like Miss Barry; she was stern, very selfish, and career oriented. She did have a light side, but it was hidden very deep and I think that is why I am so good at entertauning people. It was the only way I could get any attention. 😀

Leave a Reply

