Book Review

A Study in Scarlet Women – Sherry Thomas

Book Title: A Study in Scarlet Women

Series: Lady Sherlock 

Author: Sherry Thomas

Goodreads Link: Click here

scarlet

Star Rating:  gold stargold stargold stargold starempty star – Really good book! Recommended.

Disclaimer: I received this free book from NetGalley in exchange for an un-biased review.

Is that a groovy cover or what?!  It’s all misty and check out that dress!  Call up the hansom my good man, I’m on my way to Baker Street!

In case you couldn’t tell, I’m a big Holmes fan.  I’ve been reading the books since I was in Jr. High, and loved the Jeremy Brett tv series, as well as the newer Cumberbatch version. There’s something about the atmosphere of Victorian London that just gets me every time.  But, I do admin I’m a little bit of a purist.  I’m not really into deviations from the original story. I decided to take a chance and request this book. I was very surprised by how much I liked it!  Here is the blub from Goodreads…

With her inquisitive mind, Charlotte Holmes has never felt comfortable with the demureness expected of the fairer sex in upper class society.  But even she never thought that she would become a social pariah, an outcast fending for herself on the mean streets of London.

When the city is struck by a trio of unexpected deaths and suspicion falls on her sister and her father, Charlotte is desperate to find the true culprits and clear the family name. She’ll have help from friends new and old—a kind-hearted widow, a police inspector, and a man who has long loved her. But in the end, it will be up to Charlotte, under the assumed name Sherlock Holmes, to challenge society’s expectations and match wits against an unseen mastermind.

Charlotte Holmes is a girl with the face of an angel and a mind like a steel trap.  She also does not have much regard for societal conventions and in trying to gain independence from her family, makes a vital mistake.  Now she’s damaged goods.  Hence, one of the themes of this book.  What is left to women who for one reason or another find themselves on the opposite side of the rigid, victorian ideas of purity of women?  How can you support yourself when no one will feed, house or employ you? Thankfully, Charlotte has some talents that will help her out.

I didn’t read the description for the book beforehand so I was a little confused through the first part of the book.  I kept expecting the original Holmes to pop up at some point, not realizing that this is more of an alternate universe Sherlock.  It is very enjoyable all the same.  I’m happy to see this is the beginning of a new series.  I definitely want to see more of this group of people, who while they are fundamentally different from the beloved Sherlock Holmes characters, are just as fun to spend time with.  I recommend this to anyone who likes a good mystery and anyone who loves books with strong female characters.

Song for this book: Sally Ann by Natalie Merchant

3 thoughts on “A Study in Scarlet Women – Sherry Thomas

Leave a Reply

