Memes

Top 5 Wednesday – Fave Books Out of Your Comfort Zone

Welcome back to Top 5 Wednesday.  This is a meme started in November of 2013 and is still going strong! If you’re interested in being a part of it please see the group on Goodreads.

This week’s topic is Favorite Books Outside Your Comfort Zone. I tend to read a lot of varied subjects and genre, but some more than others.  Here are some I could come up with…

Non-Fiction

tide

 

High Tide in Tucson by Barbara Kingsolver

I’ve never been one for non-fiction books.  I’ve read a few but they never did much for me.  This  one came at just the right time I guess.  It has an optimism that appealed to me at that point in my life.

Cormac McCarthy

the road

The Road by Cormac McCarthy

I do like dystopian or post-apocalyptic books, but this one has a brutality that I am not usually attracted to.  I don’t think I could read any of his other books, even though I hear they are really good.  It’s just a little much for me.

Short Stories

life

Dear Life: Stories by Alice Munro

I have nothing against short stories, I’ve just never been fond of them.  If I like a story I want it to keep going, lets turn it into a series if possible! However, I heard of Alice Munro and decided to try it.  I love her stories! Not a whole lot happens in them, except life. She writes with truth and it’s like living a day in someone elses life.

Re-imaginings

beekeeper

The Beekeepers Apprentice by Laurie R. King

I tend to stay away from re-imaginings of things I already love.  No remakes of Pride & Prejudice, or Jane Eyre. This is one about Sherlock Holmes, and I love Sherlock.  I’ve loved the books since I was a teenager.  I loved the old Jeremy Brett tv show and I love the new Benedict Cumberbatch version (who doesn’t).  So when I heard about this book I was scared to try it.  But a female version of Sherlock?!  I had to try it, and I really liked it!

Horror

it

IT by Stephen King

I don’t like horror.  I don’t watch horror movies. But when I was a teenager everyone was talking about this book, so I gave it a try.  Oh my god.  Yeah, that’s why I don’t do horror, now I remember. HA!  I have to admit it was good, freaky and messed up (and I had some problems with the way girls are portrayed but I’m not going into that now). It was good horror though. Don’t think I’ll be reading it again!

 

 

 

Save

Leave a Reply

