Memes

Anne of Green Gables Read-Along: Book Tag

Now we’re rolling! First stop on the Read-Along schedule is a book tag.  Am I the only one who likes doing these, but also finds them a little nerve wracking?  The pressure of finding just the right book to put in the answer!

Yeah, it’s probably just me.

confused anne

The Reader Is Surprised

Name a book that kept you guessing or had a surprising ending (not too many spoilers, please!)

Wool by Hugh Howey.  There is actually a series of very short little books, but they whiz by in a split second. Dystopian future with a compelling story.  I had an idea of what was up, but not exactly how it was all shaking out.  I really enjoyed the Silo Saga.

The Delights of Anticipation

Name a book you are looking forward to being released.

Stiletto by Daniel O’Malley. Actually it’s already out, but I won a copy from Goodreads so I’m waiting, impatiently for it to arrive.  I’ve been waiting for this book ever since reading the first book The Rook in 2012.

A Good Imagination Gone Wrong

Name a book that has a great premise but you still didn’t love.

I was very excited to get an ARC for Cogling by Jordan Elizabeth.  The cover was really neat looking and I’d never read a “steampunk” novel before.  The story sounded great.  A girl takes a pocketwatch away from her little brother and he crumbles into a pile of cogs right in front of her. Can she find out what’s happened to him?

The book turned out to be pretty terrible.  It was also the first time I had to write a bad review. I felt so awful. I went on Goodreads and started a post for Netgalley users asking for advice on how to handle it.  The only good thing about it is I learned how to handle a bad review and made a few friends in the blog community as a result!

A New Departure in Flavorings

Name a book in you enjoyed in a genre you normally don’t read.

I normally don’t read poetry.  I have a hard time giving it the concentration it needs.  I do have a few favorite poets though, I’ve always loved Emily Dickenson and Edna St. Vincent Millay, but the one that I really loved most is Leaves of Grass by Walt Whitman. It is wonderful.  Here’s one of my favorite passages from the Song of Myself:

I know I shall not pass like a child’s carlacue cut with a burnt
stick at night.

 

I know I am august,
I do not trouble my spirit to vindicate itself or be understood,
I see that the elementary laws never apologize,
(I reckon I behave no prouder than the level I plant my house by,
after all.)
I exist as I am, that is enough,
If no other in the world be aware I sit content,
And if each and all be aware I sit content.
One world is aware and by far the largest to me, and that is my-
self,
And whether I come to my own to-day or in ten thousand or ten
million years,
I can cheerfully take it now, or with equal cheerfulness I can wait.
My foothold is tenon’d and mortis’d in granite,
I laugh at what you call dissolution,
And I know the amplitude of time.

An Epoch in the Reader’s Life

Name a book you feel has been really influential in your life.

The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury.  I was a really big reader when I was a little girl, and I would have loved to be able to talk with other people about what I loved.  When I got to Jr. High School my school file was lost, and I was put into the remedial classes. It was terrible. The teachers were truly awful. My test scores were very high, and the teachers aides would tell the teacher, we don’t think she belongs here, but they wouldn’t listen.  I was there for a year.

Then halfway through the seventh grade my english teacher gave us free reading time.  YAY! You know what I mean.  She walked up and casually asked 11 year old me, “What are you reading?” I was so excited! “The Martian Chronicles.  I’ve read it before but it’s so good! Have you read it?!!!” She gave me a funny look, and then just turned around and walked away.  I was so disappointed.  The next day she pulled me away from class and gave me a reading test.  I scored in college reading level.  I remember she put her hand on my shoulder and said “You don’t belong here.  I’m sending you to another class.”  This might not seem like a big deal, but I could tell how important it was to be in a class that challenged me.  I could also see how the kids in the remedial classes had already been given up as losers.  The teachers were uninterested in helping them.  That was my experience, and I have a fondness for that book because I really feel like it saved me from getting lost at the bottom of the LAUSD school system.

The Reaper Whose Name Is Death

Name a book with a tragic death (again, not too many spoilers, please!)

I’d have to say The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.  So much death in the end.  So many good people gone. It was truly tragic.  But still a good book.

 

Well that’s all for the Book Tag.  If you’re interested in participating in the Anne of Green Gables Read-Along please see the post at Pages Unbound. It’s going to be so much fun!

Save

3 thoughts on “Anne of Green Gables Read-Along: Book Tag

  1. I forgot about The Book Thief! It really is so sad!

    That’s so unfortunate they would just place you in a remedial class when they lost your files! Why couldn’t they just give you a reading test then, or contact your old school? I’m glad at least Ray Bradbury got you out!

    1. Yeah, that was my parents question too. The problem really was an apathetic environment at the school. I know I have gotten a really poor education, it was my love of reading that has made the difference. It’s really unfortunate that this has to be the case.

      1. I’ve met a decent amount of apathetic teachers in my life, and it really makes me sad. The profession still has a reputation for being an “easy” job for some people–and it can be, if you decide to put no effort into it. But I just find it so ethically reprehensible that people with no interest in teaching well would become teachers and ruin other people’s education. That can have an impact on them for life.

Leave a Reply

