Memes

Top 5 Wed. – Settings You Want to See More Of

Welcome back to Top 5 Wednesday.  This is a meme started in November of 2013 and is still going strong! If you’re interested in being a part of it please see the group on Goodreads.

Now getting down to business! The rules say these can be “These can be time periods (historical or futuristic) or places (real or fictitious)!” Hmm, lets see, I think I’m going to go with the “location” option.

line clipart

temerant map

Temerant

I cannot wait until we get the third book in the Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss.  I guess I’m just going to have to wait.  But it’s soooooooo hard! It’s almost as bad as waiting for ….

 

westeros

Westeros

Is everyone with me?  Winds of Winter! I can’t wait for the next installment in the Song of Ice and Fire series by G.R.R. Martin.  The tv show helps to fill the gap and I know I haven’t been waiting as long as some of the book fans have been but it doesn’t matter.  It’s a rough wait.  And now my watch begins…

 

roshar stormlight

Roshar

At least there is hope for the return to Roshar happening quickly.  Brandon Sanderson puts updates on his webpage for the next installment to the Stormlight Archive series.  Currently the first draft is at 58% completed, and this guy writes like the wind! My wallet is ready, I will have my signed first print copy in hand on release day!

 

china

China

This is a real world place and I do love books from Chinese authors.  Amy Tan and Lisa See are both favorites.  The Kitchen God’s Wife by Amy Tan and Peony in Love by Lisa See are both standout examples. It’s been a good long while since they’ve released a new book, I’m anxiously awaiting something new from either of them.

 

atwood

Not America

Margaret Atwood is not a dystopian author, she is (as she prefers to call it) an author of speculative fiction.  As such, her novels are in an alternate reality.  A very possible reality, but not as we are now.  I want to revisit her version of America, it’s usually frightening and illuminating.  I don’t know what she’s working on now, but I’d love to read it.

line clipart

So that’s my list! Here’s hoping we get to go these places again soon.

 

One thought on “Top 5 Wed. – Settings You Want to See More Of

  1. The only location I’m super familiar with on this list is Westeros! The others I’ve been meaning to read the books they’re featured in for a while… Hopefully I can discover them soon haha

Leave a Reply

