Memes

Anne of Green Gables – Read-Along

Anne of Gree Gables

Pages Unbound is hosting a read-along for an old favorite of mine. Anne of Green Gables.  It’s my first buddy read so I’m very excited!  If anyone is interested in joining please visit Pages Unbound’s signup page.

Now for the opening questions…

line clipart

Is this your first time reading Anne of Green Gables, or is this a reread for you?

I’ve read the book twice before I think.  I didn’t discover it in childhood like most people do.  I think I was in my 20’s when I first read it.

Why have you decided to join the re-along (why do you want to read or reread Anne)?

It’s been on my mind a lot lately.  My little girl (8 years old) is really into reading, and while I know she will love this book I also know that she’s just a bit young for it yet.  So I’m impatiently waiting for her to get to the right age for it.  Maybe this will help. 🙂

Have you read any other books by L.M. Montgomery? What did you think?

I have read almost all of her books.  For a while, I was completely obsessed.  I enjoyed them very much. In particular, The Blue Castle. I was not a big fan of the short stories, they seemed a little repetitive to me.

Have you seen any movie/TV/play adaptaions of Anne? Did you enjoy them?

I have seen the TV series with Meagan Follows and loved it! I think their casting was so spot on.  I also started watching the old classic movie version, but honestly didn’t like it much.  I don’t even remember finishing it.

Have you ever been to Prince Edward Island? Do you want to visit?

I haven’t been there, but I do know someone who does live there.  It seems just as lovely IRL as it is in the books.  I’d love to visit, and I know that the island does get a lot of tourism because of the books.  Too bad it’s so far away from me in California.

line clipart

Well that’s all for now, I’ll be back with updates, questions, quizzes and such.  The schedule looks like a lot of fun.  Again, if you’d like to participate follow the link at the top of the page!

 

 

Save

3 thoughts on “Anne of Green Gables – Read-Along

  1. The short stories seem a little repetitive to me, too, but then I always thought it was a mistake to release them in anthologies like “Across the Miles” and “Christmas with Anne.” Who thinks it’s a great idea to group stories by theme? Now they really do all sound the same! (And, of course, she reuses plots. I think the sailors/brothers are in two short stories and one of the Anne books.)

    1. This has always been my thought. They *are* a little repetitive, but I can deal with that because I know Montgomery wrote them for money and was probably submitting them to different magazines, so they wouldn’t necessarily have seemed repetitive to her readers at the time. But WHY did that editor decide to group all the similar ones together?! If they’d mixed them up, I think it would have been better.

      1. I didn’t think about it at the time, but you’re right. They never should have grouped the stories together in a way that only emphasized how similar they are. I always figured it was just an author working out different aspects of the same story, and as you mentioned probably submitting them to different publications. Whatever the reason, they were all delightful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

