Memes

Liebster Award!

Liebster

Yay!! My first award!

I’d like to thank all the people who got me here! That would in fact be Sionna from the Books In Her Eyes blog.  She’s a new blogger, and I met her through a group on Goodreads.  I’ve never tried making blogger friends and it’s been so nice to trade comments and admire the nice work she does on her blog.  Please give her a visit.

Here are the rules for nomination for the Liebster Award…

THE RULES:
1)  Thank the blogger who nominated them.
2)  Answer the eleven questions they gave you.
3)  Nominate up to eleven other bloggers yourself (the rules vary online, ranging from saying the nominated blog should have < 200 followers while some say < 1,000.  I tried to stay around the 200 mark.
4)  Let those other bloggers know in a comment on one of their pieces that you’ve nominated them.
5)  Provide those bloggers with eleven questions of your own for them to answer.
6)  Lastly, it’s considered good form to post an image of the award too.


 

So, on with the questions…

What type of books do you like reading (not just genre but, themes & specific things you like)?  

There was a time when the only thing I read was American/British/French literature, but nothing published later than the year 1920.  Yes, very specific I know.  I was into the whole victorian thing in a BIG way.  Then I went through my women’s lit phase, also known as Oprah’s book club. Then I stopped watching Rom-com’s and suddenly those books just didn’t do it for me anymore.  Lately I’ve been much more into dystopia, fantasy, a little bit of sci-fi and some mystery.  Particularly fantasy.

Why did you start your blog?

I love to talk about books.  But there are no book clubs in my area.  I don’t have any friends who love reading and I’m not very good at following a discussion board like you find at Goodreads.  Plus, I had heard about NetGalley, where if you do book reviews you can sometimes get a free e-book to write about. I thought, what the heck let’s see how this goes, and I really liked it!!

What is the story behind the name of your blog?

It’s kind of my everything, my facebook name, my email address, etc.  Lost In A Good Book is a book written by Jasper Fforde about a woman who is a LiteraTec or a book detective.  She has the ability to jump in and out of books and join their stories.  Best life ever right?! It’s also the first signed book I ever bought and holds a place of honor on my shelf. So of course it’s the name of my blog.

Do you hold yourself to a schedule as a writer?  How often do you write your blog?

For good or for ill there is no schedule.  There’s too much going on in my life so I don’t have time set aside to blog.  I do it when I can and how I can.

Who is a book protagonist that is important to you?

I have to say Jane Eyre.  I know it’s kind of cliche but she is really something.  She is principled, brave and bold.  Even though outwardly she is little and plain.  She is at the mercy of everyone else in her life but she refuses to allow herself to be changed by them.  She knows what she believes in and she lives accordingly.

Who is your favorite book antagonist?

Ugh she’s completely awful but Cathy Ames from East of Eden.  Pure evil in such a lovely covering.  She’s always fascinated me.

What sorts of projects (writing or otherwise) are you involved in outside of blogging?

Currently I’m consumed with moving.  We aren’t moving far but are moving quick! So that’s pretty much it, but afterwards I have some crafty plans in the works.

What book do you think everyone should read?

This one took me a while to figure out.  My 3 all-time favorite books are Jane Eyre, David Copperfield, and East of Eden (with honorable mention to The Name of the Wind).  Of those three I think East of Eden is most important.  It is filled with every bit of the human spirit. All it’s good and evil. All the terrible things we do for love.  But there is a message of hope that resonates.  Plus it’s a darn good story!

Do you prefer e-books or physical copies?

I used to prefer physical books so I could line them up on my shelf and admire them from across the room.  Then I got the kids.  Now I line them up to admire from across the room. 😉  I just don’t have the room for books anymore in my small apartment, but my kindle is my new best friend.  It never leaves my side.

What is the best TV, movie, etc. adaption of a book you’ve seen?

That’s a hard one because I am extremely hard on movies of books.  I’d have to say the version of Anne of Green Gables with Meagan Follows. It really gets the spirit of the book down and their casting is just exquisite.

What is/was your favorite childhood book?

 

How do you choose one?!  The pressure!  If I pick the one that immediately jumped into my mind when I read the question I’d say The Secret Garden.  It was so wonderful!


 

Now I have to choose some other bloggers to nominate… If you are on this list and you’ve already been nominated before sorry! I’m new to the game. If you’re reading this and you’re not on the list, please note the blank space, you’re also nominated!  There are a lot of people on my list who I didn’t name because I wasn’t sure if they had already done it before and I didn’t want to be a pest. 🙂

Ok, and here are your questions. I freely admit to stealing some of these questions.  Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery guys! 🙂

  1. Why did you decide to start blogging?
  2. What is the story behind the name of your blog?
  3. What is your favorite genre(s) to read?
  4. What is you favorite book of all time?
  5. Which 3 authors (dead or alive) would you invite to a dinner party?
  6. Which 3 characters would you invite to a dinner party?
  7. If you could live in another time, which would you choose?
  8. Which book should everyone read?
  9. What is your favorite blog post (that you’ve written, and please share the link)?
  10. If your life was a movie, who would play you?
  11. What are your other hobbies?

Phew! I made it.  That was a long one!  I can’t wait to see your answers.

Save

Save

5 thoughts on “Liebster Award!

  1. Anne of Green Gables! Wow I haven’t thought of those books in years. I don’t think I ever saw the adaption though, would you say it is worth watching or should I just re-read the books? haha

Leave a Reply

